On October 16, 2019, the University of Alberta celebrated the 2019 Killam Laureates, including Dr. Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika was recognized by being awarded the title of Killam Annual Professor. This award is in recognition of outstanding scholarship and significant academic contributions to the community, the University of Alberta and the Killam Trust.

Three individuals
Dr. Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika receiving the Killam award. Left to right; Brenda Eaton, Dr. Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika, and unknown.
All 2019 Killam Professor Winners. Top left to right; Lisa Strohschein, Vivian Mushahwar, Brenda Eaton, Martin Sharp, unknown. Bottom left to right; Vera Mazurak, Dr. Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika, Maria Mayan, Debra Davidson.
Dr. Philomina Okeke-Ihejirika with her husband Brendan Ihejirika.

Learn more about the Killam Scholars at the University of Alberta.